The Other Women (2014)… pseudo-feminist take on revenge

Standard

The Other Woman

My rating: 4

IMDB rating: 6.2

IMDB link: The Other Woman

 

Dearest reader,

I definitely like a good comedy, in fact one of my favorite comedies of all time is another Diaz classic What Happens in Vegas, but this film unfortunately was not at all what I was expecting, and not in a good way.

Except for the wardrobe and the laugh-out-loud performance by Leslie Mann, I cannot really recommend anything else about this movie. The problem, I think, is the fact that I went into this movie believing that it would be a kind of ‘taking back’ by the women of what they had been robbed of by this one man. Instead, what one finds is that it is a constant obsessive struggle masked by ‘friendship’ and comedy.

The other thing that was really a let-down was the fact that everything funny in this movie, was already revealed by the trailer. All the jokes and the pranks and even the entire plot was already laid out in the trailer, and to me that is most annoying.

Is this an enjoyable movie, though? Yes, it is perfect for light entertainment, maybe a girl’s night, but looking for anything deeper in this film would be futile. It would be interesting to see if this film passes the Bechdel Test, I would have to rewatch it, but my hypothesis would be- no.

Want to read more on The Other Women? Try these…

Movie Review: The Other Woman.

The Other Woman – 2014.

The Other Woman.

One thought on “The Other Women (2014)… pseudo-feminist take on revenge

Leave a Reply

