10 Things I Hate About You (1999)… tell me something real

Standard

10 things i hate about you

My rating: 7

IMDB rating: 7.2

IMDB link: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0147800/?ref_=ttmd_md_nm

Dearest reader,

Sticking to my love-theme this week, I watched this lovely 90’s adaptation of Shakespeare’s Taming of the Shrew. And I made up my mind that between John Cusack holding a boombox above his head, riding of in the sunset on a lawnmower with Patrick Dempsey and having Heath Ledger sing you ‘Can’t take my eyes off you’- I choose Heath Ledger, again and again, swoon!

Of course, another one of my favourite things about this movie is the strong female characters that this movie has. Fitting with the Shakespeare original, they incorporate modern feminism with the ‘shrew’ so perfectly that it would make the master proud. As I’ve argued with my review of Romeo+Juliet this movie again shows how timeless Shakespeare and his work is.

More than that, this movie is also a ‘period piece’ of the 90’s. The music, the clothes and the hair all speak of the 90’s and the lifestyles that was popular back then. But this movie is most definitely remembered for its music. Songs from Letters to Cleo and many others make this movie’s soundtrack just as iconic as the movie itself.

The last thing worth mentioning is the reworked Shakespeare poem that she writes to him, followed by the wonderful shot of Letters to Cleo performing on the roof of a building.Both these things just drives home the fact that while this film is an adaptation of a Shakespeare classic, it is hip and modern, as Shakespeare will always be.

Want to read more on 10 Things I Hate About You? Try these…

Review | 10 Things I Hate About You | Film

10 Things I Hate About You (1999).

Roger Ebert: 10 things i hate about you

Leave a Reply

