Frances Ha (2012)… maybe I just did not get it!

Standard

Frances Ha

 

My rating: 4

IMDB rating: 7.5

IMDB link: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt2347569/?ref_=ttmd_md_nm

Dearest reader,

After having read so much about this film, I really wanted to see it. Disappointed just does not cover the extent of what I feel towards this movie, I just really hated it. I struggled through every scene where Frances pined and pined over Sophie. Then I watched as she, completely broke, packs up her things and flies to Paris for 2 days while not enjoying a second of it. I think I just totally missed the point of this film.

The other thing that I could just not understand was why this film was shot in black-and-white. It looked good, but it just had no function, or none that I could perceive. Maybe it was trying to add to the hipster-type of lifestyle that Frances and her cronies is living? I cannot find any significance for it and that inexplicable aspect is very distracting to me.

The last thing that I want to comment on (this is going to be a very short post, indeed) is the fact that this film is honed as an “uproarious comedy”.  Yes, the film had one or two little chuckles, but it most definitely is very far away from an “uproarious comedy”! It is by a long stretch rather a comedy-drama, based on a Peter-Pan type of narrative along with an obsessive relationship that is not explored as destructive, but rather rewarded.

Want to read more on Frances Ha? Try these…

Roger Ebert: Frances Ha

0152 | Frances Ha.

Frances Ha (2012).

Your Netfix: Frances Ha (Noah Baumbach, 2012).

 

Leave a Reply

