Winter’s Tale (2014)… more like winter’s fail!

Standard

Winter's tale

My rating: 5

IMDB rating: 6.2

IMDB link: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1837709/?ref_=ttmd_md_nm

Dearest reader,

I am totally honest when I say that I have no idea what this film is about. The best way I can describe it, is as a mix of Cloud Atlas, nearly every princess-based fairytale out there and Supernatural (yes, the TV-series with the two hot brothers), does that sound good to you?

-Well, I am sorry, but it is not-

For the life of me I cannot understand why some of these actors took these roles… Did Russell Crowe’s career take such a plunge after the Les Mis disaster that this is all he has left? And what about Will Smith; we have not seen him in a movie for a while and suddenly he pops up as Lucifer, in this fairytale-knockoff?

Maybe I am just a fairytale ‘purist’ or maybe I just do not believe in true love and miracles in such an intense and overarching way, but this film is really something else (and not in a good way!)

In an attempt to understand, Akiva Goldsman, the director’s vision I then studied his filmography. To date he has only directed this movie, a few episodes of Fringe and Kings. But it was not his directing that caught my eye, it was his producing. Although he has produced his share of ‘fluff’ (Paranormal Activity 2-4, for example), he also produced some great movies like I am Legend, Poseidon and Deep Blue Sea.

The only thing that kind of saved this film was the absolute stunning beauty of the leading lady, Jessica Brown Findlay. I am a huge Downton Abbey fan, therefore seeing her again, for me, was a real treat! It is just a shame that the men does not step up to the challenge; except for Colin Farrel’s extremely bizarre haircut that fit neither the early 1900’s, nor 2014 (maybe a bit more, but still not really), it is Farrel and Crowe’s weird Irish accent that just does not fit. I have no idea why they have this accent, just as I have no idea why this film even has a supernatural element, if you completely excluded that, this film might just start to make sense.

Want to read more on Winter’s Tale? Try these…

Film Review: Winter’s Tale

Review: Winter’s Tale (2014).

Review: Winter’s Tale

Review- Winter’s Tale

Leave a Reply

