Rock of Ages (2012)… this must be just like living in paradise!

Standard

Rock of Ages

My rating: 7

IMDB rating: 5.9

IMDB link: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1336608/?ref_=ttmd_md_nm

Dearest reader,

I want to start by saying that I am aware of all the bad reviews that this movie got, therefore I want to quote one of my favourite critics Peter Travers from Rolling Stone:

The hugely enjoyable Rock of Ages is saved by its music, a tasty brew drawn from Def Leppard, Journey, Foreigner, Bon Jovi, REO Speedwagon, Pat Benatar, Twisted Sister, Poison and Whitesnake. It’s near impossible not to rock along.

The first and foremost thing that I love about this film, is its music. This music, which is the music that my parents listened to, is the music that I grew up with. The fact that this is a musical, and some a-list actors make up the cast, for me, reinforces the idea of ‘Broadway’ (and for us South Africans it’s the closest to Broadway that some of us are going to get).

I am not saying that this movie is flawless, in fact, there is a lot to be said of some of these actors’ performances, but for me re-watching this now after its initial release, just again emphasise what an enjoyable film this really is.

I have to admit that I am no Tom Cruise fan, but in this performance as Stacee Jaxx, he literally just kills it! Paired with the beautiful Malin Akerman, their sexual chemistry is just explosive…

-A while back, in the review of Only Lovers Left Alive, I talked about how the memorability of the opening sequence can cause a movie to stick with you for long after you have finished watching it. In this movie it is the ‘opening sequence’ of Stacee Jaxx that will just stick with you as he emerges from this sea of women passed out in his bed, classic!-

Another thing that really struck me this time around was how much this movie had influenced the recent fashion trends. People always talk about The Great Gatsby‘s influence, but if I look around me now, it is certainly these fashions that are ‘happening’ right now.

Maybe, I am just a hopeless musical junkie, but I love people breaking out in song; especially duets. Also, seeing these songs that you know and love in new contexts, opens up a whole new connotative field.

Just in terms of a period-piece, I would say that this highly sexed, luscious, bad-ass rock musical is a must for everyone that grew up listening to JourneyDeff Leopard and Bon Jovi.

Want to read more on Rock of Ages? Try these…

Rock of Ages (Review)

Rock of Ages Review.

‘Rock of Ages’ review: Becoming jukebox heroes.

Leave a comment