Stoker (2013), weirdly good!

Standard

Stoker

My rating: 7

IMDB rating: 6.9

IMDB link: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1682180/?ref_=fn_al_tt_1

Dearest reader,

At first I thought that this was going to be another Hemlock Grove-type of disturbia, but was greatly surprised with the twists and turns that this film took.

Let it be said, that the sound in this film, both as a theme and as a cinematographic element, is amazing! At some parts you feel like just closing your eyes and trying to see the world from India’s perspective.

The actor playing Charlie, Matthew Goode, to me, was not that convincing. I wanted a more ‘creepy’ character, but he did not deliver.

I was a bit unconvinced by Kidman’s character as well. I recently watched The Others and, to me, it felt like exactly the same character, just minus the deeply religious aspect. Woman in a big house, alone (mostly), with children, she is distant, weird things happen, she starts falling apart…. see what I mean?

Mia Wasikowska, on the other hand, played brilliantly. She portrayed the slightly disturbed, plagued by sights and sounds part extremely well- I, for one, loved it.

To me, this film could be studied as a type of ‘coming-of-age’ film. It certainly has most of the elements and the (brilliant) symbol of the shoes is a wonderful way of supporting this idea. Also, watch out for a very intriguing scene of India and the shoes on her bed- very good!

It does have some surprising plot twists. I do not want to spoil anything for anyone, but the secrets of this family truly run very deep. There is also a sexual element to this film that I find quite cleverly interwoven with the rest of the film.

All in all, I enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

